Персональная выставка Александра Щуренкова

Ones it happened, backfired

22.07.2018-31.07.2018

 

Галерея Vacation

24A Орчард, Нью-Йорк

Галерея «Фрагмент» представляет персональную выставку Александра Щуренкова «Цугцванг» в рамках программы Международной ассоциации галерей Vacation NYC.

Ones it happened, backfired — рефлексия художника на прошлый опыте и события, которые человек тщетно пытается сохранить в своей памяти. Тема возникает как своего рода обещание познакомиться и проникнуть в личную историю и погрузиться в рассказ о том, что произошло. Зритель доверчиво принимает это обещание и, убежденный художником в правильности своих интерпретаций, вовлекается в систему обманчиво простых знаков. Образы, воспринимаемые как знакомые и близкие, внезапно ускользают от зрителя: они ни раскрывают, ни проясняют и ни на что не ссылаются.

Зритель может задаться вопросом, почему Щуренков использует все эти «ловушки» восприятия. Причина в том, что они не просто используются для разрушения повествования и создания ситуации, когда невозможно представить целостную историю, но и служат средством переноса события и его опыта из самоочевидного повествования в пространство самого акта воспоминания. «Я говорю о чем-то» сменяется совсем другой смысловой фигурой: «я говорю о том, как я что-то вспоминаю «или «я говорю о желании вспомнить, и даже японское божество подмигивает мне из сетей, помещенных в поток времени».

О художнике

Александр Щуренков (р.1984). Художник. В августе 2017-го выиграл грант и прошел курс под руководством Михаэля Бетлера «What the work tells about the tools» в Salzburg Summer Academy of Fine Arts. С 2016 года проходит обучение в Институте Проблем Современного Искусства (Москва, Россия). В 2004 году получил степень бакалавра по математике в Московском Государственном Университете им. М.В. Ломоносова. Живет и работает в Москве. Основной темой работ Щуренкова является изучение природы основных психологических понятий, таких как самосознание, самоопределение, самодостаточность, полученные данные от которого экстраполируются на общество в целом. Художнику интересно понять, как предметы быта становятся тотемами, установить грань между сакрализацией и десакрализацией вещей, которые люди видят и используют каждый день, а также исследовать, как происходит самоидентификация с данными объектами. Важное место в художественной практике занимает также исследование изменения значений мусора, выброшенных и присвоенных объектов, а также отношение этих предметов к теме памяти в самом широком ее понимании.

Alexander Shchurenkov’s Solo Project

Once it happened, backfired

22.07.2018-31.07.2018

 

24A Orchard NYC

Fragment Gallery presents Alexander Shchurenkov’s solo exhibition “Once it happened, backfired”” as a part of a programmimg at international association of galleries Vacation NYC.

“Once it happened, backfired” is a reflection of the artist on his past experience — the events that a person tries in vain to retain in his memory. The theme emerges as a kind of promise of getting acquainted and penetrating into a personal story and of immersing oneself in an account of what has happened. The viewer trustfully accepts this promise and, convinced by the artist of the correctness of his interpretations, becomes involved in a system of deceptively simple signs. The images, perceived as familiar and close, suddenly slip away from the viewer’s recognition: they neither reveal or clarify nor refer to anything.

The viewer may wonder why Shchurenkov employs all these “traps” of perception. The reason is that they are not just used to destroy a narrative and create a situation where it is impossible to imagine a coherent story but also serve as a means of transferring the event and its experience from a self-evident narrative into the space of the act of recollection itself. “I am talking about something” gives way to a very different semantic figure: “I am talking about how I am recalling something,” or — “I am talking about the desire to recall, and even a Japanese deity is winking at me from the nets placed in the stream of time”

About artist

Alexander Shchurenkov (was born in 1984).
He attended Michael Bitler’s three-week course «What the work tells about the tools» (Salzburg International Summer Academy of Fine Arts). Since 2016, he has been studying at the Institute of Contemporary Art (Moscow, Russia). Alexander received a bachelor’s degree in mathematics in 2004 from Moscow State University. Since November 2017, he has been a member of the artist-run space Center Red (Moscow). He currently lives and works in Moscow. The main theme of Schurenkov’s work is investigating the nature of basic psychological notions such as self-consciousness, self-determination, and self-sufficiency and extrapolating the results to society as a whole. The artist is interested in understanding how everyday objects become totems, as well as drawing the line between the sacralization and the desacralization of things that people see and use every day, experiencing self-identification with these objects, and investigating the changing meanings of garbage and abandoned and re-appropriated objects. His artistic techniques include working with everyday objects, from which he creates installations and sculptures, and exploring spatial limits in site-specific works.